Thursday, July 15, 2010

From now only 3 films per week: Rama Narayanan

After being elected as the President of Tamil Nadu Film Producers' Council on Sunday. Producer-Director Rama Narayanan convened the executive committee meeting at the Film Chamber premises yesterday. SIFCC President Kalyan, Actors Council President Sarath Kumar, FEFSI President V C Guhanathan felicitated the new office bearers of the council.

At the meeting the new President Rama Narayanan made some striking announcements and revealed the future plans of the council. The most important being there will be only three new releases so that even small budget films will get theatres.

All the announcements made by Rama Narayanan on the day are:

1. The honorary payment offered to producers would be increased to Rs. 3000 from the present Rs. 2,500.

2. A monetary help given to family of deceased producers will be increased to Rs. 3 lakhs from Rs. One lakh.

3. A monetary assistance of Rs. 2 lakhs will be given to the family of Valampuri Somanathan who was one of the founders of the Film Producers' Council. Veteran producer, scriptwriter and director Valampuri Somanathan passed away in Chennai last month at the age of 82.

4. Appeals will be made to the respective companies of technology like QUBE to reduce the prices of their products and services.

5. Members will get a financial assistance of Rs. 50,000 to meet the marriage expenses of their children.

6. To avoid small films not getting good theatres for their releases there is decree passed saying there should only be three new releases per week. First producers must register their films with the council along with its censor clearance certificate. Then the special committee formed for the purpose will decide the release dates based on seniority in registration.

7. Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi will lay the foundation stone for the housing project for the producers in Paiyanur on August 22.

Rama Narayanan was elected as the president of the Producers' Council for a record third time. His affiliates Sivasakthi Pandian and K Muralidharan have been elected as honorary secretaries, while M Kaja Mohideen as treasurer. Anbalaya Prabhakaran and SA Chandrasekaran were elected as vice-presidents.



Post a Comment


Complete Online Solution | Make the internet world into your hands Copyright © 2009 Community is Designed by CO5 | Web designing | Web hosting